Benefits of Purnima Vrat

Benefits of Purnima Vrat
Benefits of Purnima Vrat

Fasting can bestow a lot of benefits to the body and mind. Some of the positive effects of the Purnima fasting include balancing of metabolism, increased endurance, controlling of acidity and cleansing of the digestive system. Depending on the various phases of the moon, the gravitational force exerted on our body will vary and it would affect the various physiological processes. Fasting on Pournami or Full Moon day would help to maintain the digestive system clean and healthy. Fasting, combined with pujas and prayers, can let the body and mind relax and find a balance. A dedicated observation of the Vrat helps to relieve all the pains and control the emotions.

Satya Narayan Vrat/Puja

The Satya Narayan Vrat/Puja is a ceremony dedicated to Lord Vishnu and is considered highly auspicious to perform on Pournami day. On the day of the Vrat, devotees clean their houses, decorate the entrance doorsteps with mango leaves and installs an idol or picture of Satya Narayan (Vishnu) on an altar. Two small-sized plantain trees will be tied at both ends of the altar and the idol or picture will be decorated with vermillion, sandal paste and garlands. The puja process includes invoking the blessings of Lord Ganesha and chanting of Vishnu Sahasranam. Tulsi, fruits, nuts, rice dishes, betel leaves, milk porridge etc. are offered and the puja ends with devotees performing Mangal Arati by waving camphor or ghee lamp in front of the altar. Performing this puja also enhances the effect of Purnima Vrat and helps the devotees to share the blessings with others.

2018 Pournami Days
The Pournami Fasting days might not be the same for all locations in India. There can be slight variations from the below-mentioned dates and one should finalise it by checking the local lunar calendar.
 
01 January (Monday): Paush Purnima Vrat
31 January (Wednesday):  Magha Purnima Vrat
01 March (Thursday):  Phalguna Purnima Vrat
31 March (Saturday ): Chaitra Purnima Vrat
29 April (Sunday): Vaishakha Purnima Vrat
29 May (Tuesday): Jyeshtha Purnima Vrat
27 June (Wednesday): Jyeshtha Purnima Vrat
27 July (Friday): Ashadha Purnima Vrat
26 August (Sunday): Shravana Purnima Vrat
24 September (Monday): Bhadrapada Purnima Vrat
24 October (Wednesday): Ashwin Purnima Vrat
22 November (Thursday): Kartik Purnima Vrat
22 December (Saturday): Margashirsha Purnima Vrat
Read more about Significance of Purnima vrat, click here