Dasamsa – D10

Dasamsa - D10

Dasamsa – D10

The counting of the Dasamsa is to be made from the same sign, and from the 9th sign for an even one.  The presiding Deities of the 10 cardinal directions East etc., namely, Indira, Agni, Yama, Rakshasa, Varuna, Vayu, Kubera, Isana, Brahma, and Anantha are respectively the Lords of the Dasamsa in the case of an odd sign, they are their Lords in reverse order for an even sign.  

The Dasamsa of a sign is 3 degrees.  In an odd sign, it commences from the same sign, in an even sign from the sign falling 9th from it.  For example, suppose the Ascendant is 0 – 7 degree 50’ – 35”.  This Ascendant falls in an odd sign Aries, therefore its Dasamsa will remain from Aries to Capricorn.  The First Dasamsa will be of Aries itself,  the second that of Taurus, and so on…If the Ascendant is 0-7 degree 50’ – 30” the Dasamsa will commence from the 9th sign from Taurus ie. from Capricorn, the 9th sign from Taurus.  

There are a number of factors that help us in arriving at a decision on this matter.  

1. The strength and placement of the planet(s) becoming prime and secondary determinant(s) of the profession. For example, the sign of a kingly planet like the Sun or the Moon or the sign of an affluent planet like Venus, Jupiter, Mars, etc. indicates a high degree of affluence of the profession of a native and the income earned.  

2.The planetary influences on the houses ruling professional matters.

3.The strength of the operating planetary sub-periods.

Author: Bharathi R Ram

Previous: Navamsa – D9

Astro-Visionpresents theBest Jyotish Software for Prasna, Muhurtha, and Panchanga Predictions.