Kalachakra Dasa Demystified(Part 2)

Dasa Years
The Dasa years are decided by the lord of the Dasa sign, as shown in Table 2. The Dasa balance of the first Dasa is based on the Nakshatra Pada remaining at birth.
Table 2Dasa Judgement
One can judge a Dasa by seeing the house occupied by Dasa sign and planetary influences on it. One can also take the Dasa sign as the Ascendant and judge planetary positions from it.

Moon is at 18° 34′ in Vi, i.e. Hasta 3rd Pada in Swami Vivekananda’s horoscope That falls in Gemini Navamsa. The fraction of Nakshatra Pada left is (20:00-18:34)/3:20 = 1:26/3:20=0.43. So 0.43×9 = 3.87 years of Virgo Dasa is left at birth.

Swami Vivekananda: Born January 12, 1863, at 6h.32m.58s.(LMY, 5:54 East of GMT), at Calcutta(22 N 40, 88 E 30).
Gemini Dasa runs from January 12, 1863, to November 21, 1866. Cancer Dasa of 21 years runs till November 21, 1887. Leo Dasa of 5 years runs till November 21, 1892. Virgo Dasa of 9 years runs till November 21, 1901.

During Virgo Dasa, the Swamiji saw sudden limelight and fame. In the natal rasi chart, Virgo is the 10th house of Karma. More importantly, taking Virgo as the Ascendant, the 1st cum 10th lord Mercury are together in the 5th house forming another powerful Rajayoga. That gave him a lot of Dharmic work and fame.

Divisional Dasas
Though most astrologers use Rasi chart for everything, Parasara has given specific divisional charts for specific areas of life. While each divisional chart is like the map of a different floor in a multi-storeyed building, the Rasi chart is like a combined map that shows all the floors together. It can be tricky and confusing. For example, problems int he 4th house can show problems related to the heart, mother, education, residence, real estate, vehicles, peace, spiritual direction, wife’s job, son’s losses, brother’s wealth etc. By checking an individual divisional chart relevant to the matter of interest, we can see things much more clearly.

I have found divisional charts to be very potent when I have used Pushya-Paksha Ayanamsa and reformed definitions of divisional charts based on Parasara’s true teachings, where divisions of even signs are counted anti-Zodically(anti-clockwise) in several (but not all) divisional charts. Somehow, many translators of Parasaras work seem to have missed that directive.

The divisional chart can be treated as the Rasi chart. For example, there is precedence in tradition for taking Navamsa and Dwadasamsa charts as Rasi charts and finding further Navamsa or Dwadasamsa in them. Then one can also consider longitudes in divisional charts and find Dasas in divisional charts. Thus, one can find Kalachakra Dasa taking a divisional chart as the Rasi chart to time events in that area of life better.
Taking the Vimsamsa chart (D-20) which shows spiritual evolution, the Moon is at 18° 34′ in Virgo. Each Vimsamsa is of 1° 30′ arc. The 13th Vimsamsa of a sign is from 18° to 19° 30′. Vimsamsas are counted from Aries, Sagittarius and Leo in movable, fixed and dual signs respectively. In even signs, they are counted in reverse. Thus, 20 Vimsamsas of Virgo are mapped to 20 signs ending in Leo, i.e. they are mapped to Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn… Aries Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn…, Leo. Thus, the 13th Vimsamsa is mapped to Pisces.

Also, (18:34 – 18:00)/1:30 = 0:34/1:30 = 0.3778 of the Vimsamsa is over. Counting 0.3778 x 30° = 11.334° from the end of Pisces (moving in the reverse order), the Moon would be in the Vimsamsa at 18° 33′ Pisces. If we take that as Rasi chart and find the Navamsa, it is in Revati 1st Pada, i.e. Sagittarius. The Navamsa dasas are as follows:

Sg (Revati 1): 1857-05-16 – 1867-05-17
Cp (Revati 2): 1867-05-17 – 1871-05-17
Aq (Revati 3): 1871-05-17 – 1875-05-16
Pi (Revati 4): 1875-05-16 – 1885-05-16
Ar (Aswini 1): 1885-05-16 – 1892-05-16
Ta (Aswini 2): 1892-05-16 – 1908-05-16

Pisces with 4 planets is the key sign in this D-20 chart. It is the 3rd house of Gurupadesa (inititation by a Guru) and Swamiji received Guru’s guidance then. Taking Pisces as the Ascendant, the exchange between the 1st lord Jupiter and the 5th lord Moon brings blessings from Poorvapunya (results of good actions from past births).

Taking Aries as the Ascendant, the 12th house is very strong. Swamiji took sanyasa in Aries Dasa.
Taurus is the 5th house of fame. Taking it as the Ascendant, the 1st lord Venus joins the 9th and 10th lord Saturn. The 5th lord Mercury aspects the 5th. A lot of Dharmic work attended by limelight turning on him was part of his spiritual evolution in Taurus Dasa.

If one finds Kalachakra Dasa of Swamiji’s Dasamsa (D-10 ruling of work in society), one can see that the Dasa of the 5th house gave him limelight and fame.

An alternate interpretation of Parasara’s teachings on Kalachakra Dasa has been provided by paying attention to an oft-ignored verse that allows for a simple and elegant definition. It is argued that Kalachakra Dasa is a progression of the Moon’s Nakshatra Pada, just as Vimshottari Dasa is a progression of the Moon’s Nakshatra, and that scholars have misunderstood Bhukti sequences as Dasa sequences. I do hope that the learned scholars consider this view, benefit from it and do further research on this important Dasa system.

Courtesy: Modern Astrology(PVR Narasimha Rao)
Continued from: Kalachakra Dasa Demystified – Part 1

LS-mini Download - FREE Astrology Software

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *