Factors of astrological time calculation

The following are some of the important factors that help calculate time:

1 vighati = 24 seconds
2.5 vighati = 1 minute
60 vighati = 1 ghati = 24 minutes
2.5 ghati = 1 hour
60 ghati = 24 hours = 1 day
7 days = 1 week
2 weeks = A fortnight (Paksha) (It has been divided into Krishnapaksha and Suklapaksha)
2 paksha = 1 month
2 months = 1 season
6 months = 1 ayana
2 ayanams = 1 Year
There are 12 months – Chaithram, Vaishākham, Jyeshtham, Āshādham, Srāvanam, Bhādrapadam, Āśwēyujam, Kārthikam, Mārgaśiram, Pushyam, Māgham and Phālguam.
There are 6 seasons – Spring, Summer, Monsoon, Autumn, Winter and Late Autumn.
There are 2 Ayanas – Dakshiāyaa and Uttarāyaa
One lunar day is called Tithi.
There are 15 tithis in one paksha. They are the following:
Pradhama, Dwithiya, Thrithiya, Chathurthi, Panchami, Shashti, Sapthami, Ashtami, Navami, Daśami, Ekādaśi, Dwādaśi, Thrayodaśi, Chathurdaśi, Amāvāsya / Pourami.
The science of astrology helps a person to make his life easier and peaceful in the face of an unknown future. Astrology gives a clue regarding the various experiences one may go through in life.

Astrology has roots in the firm belief in pre-birth virtues and vices, re-birth etc. Every living being experiences the fruits of his actions, which could be the results of this birth or previous birth. The horoscope helps to get an insight into the actions of previous births. One may go through the effect of a vicious action in the previous birth in this life. With the help of astrology we can foresee such instances and take remedial measures.


Previous : The importance of time in Astrology

Next       : Zodiac / Rashi