What is Vedic Astrology – Learn Astrology

What is Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology, also known as Vēdānga or Indian astrology, is an ancient science which deals with the study of celestial bodies and their influence over human life. The word ‘Vēdānga’ itself shows that astrology has its roots and is an integral part of the Vēdās. The literary translation of Vēdānga is ‘the limb of Vēdās’. Humanity has, from time immemorial, upheld the belief that astrology has an important influence over the growth of living beings and the course of their life. History testifies the presence of astrologers in Babylonia as early as 3000 BC. But astrology had developed as a science in India much before this. It is believed that ancient scriptures like Sūrya Siddhāntha and Vēdānga Jyothisham are more than 5000 years old. Astrology is perhaps one of the oldest, deepest and greatest sciences of the world.

Vedas are divided into six parts:

1. Shiksha – A preliminary study of Vedic elements and their correct pronunciation
2. Chhanda – Learning the correct expression of Vedic suktās.
3. Vyākaraṇa – Helps to learn the grammatical aspect.
4. Nirukta – Useful in understanding the difficult words, pādās and mantrās.
5. Kalpa – Helps to comprehend the ritualistic aspect of vēdas.
6. Jyothisham or Astrology – The eyes of Vēdas, enabling to see the past, present and the future.

Free Astrology Software Download – LifeSign Mini®1.2

Next Lesson –  Classification of Vedic astrology

9 Comments on “What is Vedic Astrology – Learn Astrology”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *