The Concept of Badhakesh

Concept of Badhakesh - Vedic astrology blog


Our horoscope is a window through which we look into our life. Our life is divided into 12 parts and each part is known as Bhavas or houses. These houses are occupied by signs or rashis. These houses can or cannot have planets sitting in it. The lord of those signs /rashis will also be present in some houses in the chart.
A house with a complex placement can create complex issues to the native. The lord of that particular house is known as Badhak or Badhakesh. These Bhadak or Badhakesh will be different for different Lagnas/Ascendants.

To find the Importance of Bhava

You can check your Badhakesh sign according to your Ascendant or Lagna in the table given below

Sign Badhakasthana
Aries Aquarius
Taurus Capricorn
Gemini Sagittarius
Cancer Taurus
Leo Aries
Virgo Pisces
Libra Leo
Scorpio Cancer
Sagittarius Gemini
Capricorn Scorpio
Aquarius Libra
Pisces Virgo

The peculiarity is that for all movable ascendants Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn the Badhakesh house will be 11th house and its lord.

For fixed ascendants/lagnas Leo, Taurus, Scorpio, and Aquarius Badhakesh will be the 9th house and its lord.
For Dual Ascendants Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces Badhakesh will be the 7th house and its lord.

For Movable ascendants/lagnas 11th house, its lord and which house that lord is placed will show where should be their main focus throughout your life. The 11th house deals with wealth, money, prosperity, hopes, profit, gains, big organizations, friends, elder siblings, aspirations, and collective projects.

For fixed ascendants/lagnas Leo, Taurus, Scorpio, and Aquarius Badhakesh will be the 9th house and its lord, and where the lord is placed will show the details of the matters which you have to give first preference in your life.  The 9th house rules father figures, mentor, divine learning, spiritual pursuits, consciousness, charity, generosity, duty, destiny, happiness, foreign travel, long journeys of short duration life in foreign lands, meditation, education in foreign lands, general fortune, religion, pilgrimages, philosophy, law, and philosophy.


For Dual Ascendants Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces Badhakesh will be the 7th house and its lord and where the lord is placed. The 7th house rules spouse, marriage, legal agreements, business partners, liveliness, sex, fertility, passion, adultery, moral principles, pleasures, comforts, luxuries, foreign settlements, success in love affairs, conjugal life, home abroad, travel, trade or business,  and sexual organs.

Find the position of Badhak house? What is the condition of that lord? Is it exalted? Is it debilitated? Is it in retrograde? Is it in conjunction with friends or enemies? Is it expected by a good planet or bad planet?

Badhak or Badhakesh means hindrances or restrictions. These restrictions can create stress throughout your life if you are failing to identify it and start to manage it. If you identify this in your chart, take this information in a healthy manner. You identified your weakness and now it’s time to manage them carefully. It is not necessary that they must always create problems. If their Badhakesh or lord of the Bandhak house is placed well then you can even expect progress in those matters.

When you research the Badhak and Badhakesh effect in your chart, then you should not only read the matters allotted to the house, but you should read it with the sign and the house which Badhakesh sits. There is no such thing that you will never prosper if your Badhakesh in bad condition. God’s grace along with good Karma will add value to your efforts and will make your life more valuable. Planets are just an indicator of the challenges which you can face. They are not an ultimatum.

Author: JayaShree

Previous: Significance of Kal Sarp Dosh

Astro Pack - A combo of Horoscope & Muhurta Software


3 Comments on “The Concept of Badhakesh”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *